Vehicle Tags

The Dade County Tax Commissioner is responsible for the registration of motor vehicles and the collection of all registration fees, taxes and penalties specified by Georgia law. Ad Valorem taxes, if due, are collected when the vehicle is registered.

New Vehicles

Newly-acquired vehicles and Vehicles new to the state must be registered within 30 days of the purchase date or the day the individual moves to Georgia, respectively.

Out of State

Out-of-state tags are valid for only 30 days after moving to Georgia, regardless of the date shown on the tag. There are only two exceptions: 

  • Full-Time College Students
  • Non-Resident Military Personnel

Georgia License

One must have a Georgia driver's license for personal identification when registering a vehicle. The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety uses the Georgia driver's license number as an account number so that all vehicles owned or leased by an individual can be consolidated in one account.

Out of State Sales Tax

Cars bought out-of-state cannot be registered until sales tax is paid. For vehicles purchased from an out-of-state or out-of-country dealer or business, Georgia sales tax must be paid, or proof of payment submitted, at the time of title application. A Georgia title and license plate will not be issued until all sales tax due is paid. 

Additional Information

  • For additional information regarding sales tax, one may contact:

    • Department of Revenue Rome Regional Office
      1401 Dean Street
      Suite E
      Rome, GA 30161
      Phone: 706-295-6061
  • One may contact the Dade County Tax Commissioner's office regarding vehicle tags by calling 706-657-7563.
  • View more detailed information about vehicle tags in Georgia.